Skip to content

Oh the times they are a changin’….

August 15, 2015

They are changing, they have changed.

I have spoken to this, taught about it, experienced it, and yet, today, it hit home that much more. In my preparation for Italy for 3 weeks I picked up two more memory cards for what I assume to be at least twice what I need. For me, that means I will be carrying 4 -16 GB cards. Right, for many steeped in digital, I can hear, your kidding, you are traveling for 3 weeks with ONLY 64GB of memory? Well, for me, and the camera I use we are looking at just under 4000 raw images, that is a lot in my world.

However, the point is, I bought these two cards for a mere $20., once downloaded and backed up, we reformat and ready to go for another 4000 photos. I have on order 30 rolls of Tri-X 120 which will make 360 exposures for $180., also a lot for me. Rollei has to eat, too.

Brothers Rastetter (1 of 1)

The Rastetter Brothers, Sometimes you find them in your own “backyard”.

Why?!? You ask. For B&W photos, there is still nothing like film and silver prints. Also, with my dear Rollei, I engage in a different way then with young Lumix. Even on the street, there seems to be more intention, the images are more studied, even while spontaneous. When I engage with people, in addition to my gift to schmooze, working with such a camera is a calling card. It commands respect, it grabs peoples’ attention and intention. Together, we connect with our subjects in a substantial and considered way.

So, people, those out there with your seflie sticks, I am on my way. I may be photographing you while to are absorbed in yourself, most likely with my Lumix, however, don’t be surprised if I engage with you and seek your permission to ‘make your portrait’, selfie stick and all. Do not worry, engaging with strangers is OK. It used to be the norm, as in, “Excuse me, would you take our picture?” That is correct, once upon a time people engaged with each other, with complete strangers, sans the insulation of one’s own little digital world, it is a good thing.

SF Giants Opening Day 2014-170-Email

Waiting for the ferry, while being somewhere else. .

See you on the road, I’ll be the guy with that machine around his neck, you know, “grandpa had one of those”, “I learned on a rollei”. Although, if rollei is in my bag, me and little Lumix may be working away, without hardly being noticed, all three of us can be quite stealth, when we want..

Smile, or not!

A presto!

One Comment leave one →
  1. barry bussewitz permalink
    August 15, 2015 11:24 pm

    who lumix?

    >

Leave a comment